ToledoLove: Starving Artist Greg

Before I start, I owe you guys a major apology. I know this post is going up SUPER late, but other deadlines kept getting in the way and I had a ton going on. Have no fear though, there will still be another ToledoLove post this friday!

I’m really excited to share this installment of ToledoLove with you all. Last weekend, I attended Death by Chocolate, an event hosted by Momentum, at the Perrysburg Cedar Creek campus. While there, the group I came with participated in two art workshops: a canvas button workshop and a paint canvas workshop.

For this post I’m focusing on the paint canvas workshop. You’ve more than likely heard of these paint classes before where a teacher guides you in painting an end product. There are a few businesses in the area that offer the same type of class, but as someone who strongly supports local businesses and artists, I was happy to see that the artist booked for this workshop is a local artist living in the Toledo area.

There’s a reason I choose to write rather than draw or paint. When I write, I feel like I can actually make something beautiful. However, when I draw or paint or try any other art form for that matter, the product is something comparable to my 11 month old daughter’s capabilities (no offense, Zolie Rae!).

For this particular class, we were instructed to paint “old man” dandelions. I don’t actually know what dandelions are called after they turn into the weeds you make wishes on, but I used to call them “old man” dandelions when I was younger, so let’s stick with that.

I was pleasantly surprised by the end product. Everyone was instructed to paint the same idea, but each person’s painting was unique in their own way as you can see from the three examples below (L-R: my mother in law’s, mine, my step mom’s).

The artist who led the class, Greg Justus, did so in a way that felt stress-free and easy going. As I mentioned above, I’m hopeless at painting and I was worried that my end product would turn out like total garbage, but I ended up with something that was actually semi-appealing.

Justus, a stay-at-home dad, has been pursuing his art for as long as he can remember. On his website, he recalls of a time when he was younger where he would go door to door selling his art work, when one day, he was scolded by a crotchety old woman in a moo moo who hates children. That takes dedication if you ask me!

After recieving his Bachelor of Fine Arts Degree from Kent State University in 1997, Justus settled down in the Toledo area with his family.

As an artist, Justus has recieved several recognitions and honors for his art including first place for fine arts at the 2013 Old West End Festival and featured work in the Toledo Museum of Art’s “Naturally Toledo” art exhibition.

Aside from leading paint classes and working on custom pieces, Justus regularly shows his work at local businesses, galleries and shows throughout Northwest Ohio and has also donated his time and talent to several good causes, most recently to the Cancer Connection of Northwest Ohio.

With the Cancer Connection of Northwest Ohio, he has helped form a pediatric hospital program where he gives art lessons to children undergoing cancer treatment.

Justus offers paint workshops for both adults and children. For adult-level parties, he provides the 16″x20″canvas, paint brushes and other supplies and has three 6-foot tables available to rent for no extra charge. The cost to book an adult level paint party is just $35.00 per person and will last around 2 and a half hours.

For kids paint parties, a 12″x12″ canvas, paint brushes and supplies will be included. kids parties will last around an hour and a half and the cost is $25.00 per child (age 12 and under).

I love the idea of having a kids paint party. Sure, Zolie’s still way too young to be around non-edible paint, but this is a great activity for any child who shows interest in the arts. It is the perfect way to express themselves and to teach them that what one person sees may not be exactly what another person sees. It teaches them that it’s okay to look at things from different perspectives. It teaches them that it’s okay to be different.

I feel  like we need a little more of that in the world and I’m so glad Greg Justus is here to teach that.

As a token of appreciation, Justus will give each participant a free signed card or print for booking a party with him.

To schedule a party with Justus, you can email him at artofjustus@gmail.com or schedule via phone at (419) 340-2568. I strongly recommend booking a party with Justus, I had such a fun time and if someone as “unartistic” as me can enjoy themselves painting, then you’re guarenteed to have a great time.

You can follow Justus at any of his socal media accounts or check out his website below:

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram


 

Published by

Josie Schreiber

Lifestyle blogger | Freelance Writer | Aspiring Author | Semi-Modern Hippie

Leave a comment